Dan + Shay “Obsessed” Tracklist & Cover Art

Popular duo set to release sophomore album via Warner Bros./Warner Music Nashville on June 3, 2016. The album features their hit single “From The Ground Up.”

With a handful of hits like “19 You + Me” and the #1 single “Nothin’ Like You” from the nearly Gold certified debut Where It All Began, Dan+Shay are set to release their brand new album Obsessed in early June, 2016. The album features 10 new tracks and was produced by the duo’s Dan Smyers and Warner’s Scott Hendricks with Dan and or Shay (Mooney) co-writing 8 of the 10 tracks, including the hit single “From The Ground Up.” The band has given fans five of the 10 tracks to preview and purchase prior to album release including the hit single and “Already Ready.” The newest three added to the pre-sale instant gratification feature on Apple Music’s iTunes are “Road Trippin,” “How Not Not To” and the title tune, “Obsessed.”

Enlisting Bryan Sutton and Danny Rader on acoustic guitar, Jimmie Lee Sloas on bass, Gordon Mote on keys, piano and string arrangements, Derek Wells on electric guitar, Russ Pahl on pedal steel and Jim Horn on saxophone, it's clear Dan and Shay clearly carefully studied the playbook and went into the studio with a vision for what they wanted to accomplish with this album musically.

“There are still nights where I spend hours online or digging through stacks of albums to study the album liner notes,” says Smyers, who is a self-admitted music junkie, which serves the co-producer well. “There were so many moments when we had these amazing musicians in the studio and I would find myself so immersed in the note or the moment that I would honestly find my fingers on autopilot recording the takes without me even remembering I had done so. We both have the upmost respect for these players and the fact that we could convince them to come play on this record made it an even more memorable experience.”

The duo gives credit where it’s due. In fact, they attribute the title of the album to their supporters who they teamed up with [their fans] to reveal the track listing. “We love our fans and feel like [they] are a huge reason we’ve had the success we’ve had,” Smyers told People Now. “Our fans are very involved in everything we do. We’re more like friends with them… We know their names, they know our names. To let them reveal the track titles has been really fun.” Dan + Shay also revealed the Obsessed album cover directly to fans.

In addition his writing credits on Obsessed, Mooney co-wrote Rascal Flatt's recent No. 1 hit, "I Like the Sound of That," which "wins with subtleties and sharp songwriting" (Taste of Country), along with Jesse Frasure and pop singer-songwriter Meghan Trainor.

The three latest tracks were released this past week because the duo is excited to give their core fans a deeper peek into the new project.

“The Obsessed album is for our fans, and surprising them is one of our favorite things to do,” explains Smyers.” We wouldn’t be able to do what we do without them, so we wanted to give them more music sooner than they could buy it in stores.”

“There’s nothing better than hearing them sing our songs back to us at a show, hitting every word and every note,” Mooney continued. “We’re so excited to share the new album Obsessed with our fans and hear what they think.”

Dan + Shay Obsessed Tracklist & Cover Art:


  1. "All Nighter" (Nicolle Galyon, Jimmy Robbins, David Hodges)
  2. "Road Trippin’" (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Martin Johnson)*
  3. "From The Ground Up" (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Chris DeStefano)
  4. "Already Ready" (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Shane McAnally, Jimmy Robbins)
  5. "How Not To" (Adam Hambrick, Paul DiGiovanni, Kevin Bard)
  6. "Lipstick" (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Nicolle Galyon)
  7. "Round The Clock" (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Jesse Frasure, David Hodges)**
  8. "Lately" (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Martin Johnson)*
  9. "Sway" (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Liz Rose, busbee)
  10. "Obsessed" (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Nolan Lambroza, Breyan Isaac)

Obsessed was produced by Dan Smyers and Scott Hendricks.
*Produced by Dan Smyers and Martin Johnson
**Produced by Dan Smyers and Jesse Frasure