Nate Smith Announces New Single “Bulletproof”; “Through The Smoke” EP

With “World On Fire” closing out two months on top of the Billboard Country Airplay radio chart, Nate Smith announces the follow-up and EP which will feature it.

It’s been a banner two-plus months for the still-rising star behind the hit “World On Fire.” With that song ending a long reign at the top of the charts, Nate Smith has announced, today, the release of the new song “Bulletproof,” an anthemic single written by Ben Johnson, Hunter Phelps and Ashley Gorley. The song describes how hard it is to overcome the memory of a past relationship.

About the song, Nate says, “Ashley Gorley, who is one of the co-writers of ‘World On Fire’ with me, wrote ‘Bulletproof’ and had it sent to me. I immediately loved it. I thought the beginning had a Tom Petty vibe to it then chorus has this massive lift. It sounded like an anthem, and I knew I wanted to cut it.”

He added, “I’ve dealt with some heartache throughout my life, and I’ve also been the deliverer of heartache to some. It’s funny because we sometimes think that alcohol is gonna make you forget that person, but it often times brings it right back up. There are so many things we can try to do to get over someone we love, but really time is the only thing that can help.”

“Bulletproof” is one of seven songs that will be included on Nate Smith’s Through The Smoke EP, due to be released on April 5, 2024. Smith shared “I’ve been through a lot of adversity in my life, but ‘through the smoke’ came to mind one day and it was the perfect way to describe making through tragedy. It captures what it looks like on the other side of heartbreak, on the other side of tragedy, on the other side of giving everything you got to go after what you want to do in life. I think this EP is a transition between the fire and pain and everything I went through, and then overcoming. And that’s what I want people to feel. It’s layered in there.”

Smith’s 8 week reign at the top of Billboard’s Country Airplay chart ties Morgan Wallen’s “Last Night,” Alan Jackson & Jimmy Buffett’s “It’s Five O’Clock Somewhere” and Lonestar’s “Amazed” for the second-longest reign since Country Airplay began in 1990. The song also spent three weeks atop the Mediabase/Country Aircheck chart. “World On Fire” is one of 26 songs to be featured on Nate Smith’s debut album. The album hit #6 on Billboard’s Country Albums chart, #30 on the Billboard Hot 200 Albums chart. The album features RIAA Certified Gold hits “Wreckage” and “Under My Skin” along with the radio #1 hit “Whiskey On You.”