Billy Dean Returns With First Album In A Decade

“The Rest Of It’s Mine” finds the velvet-voiced singer/songwriter back with 10 brand new tracks. Get all of the details here.

The singer behind chart-toppers like “It’s What I Do” “Only Here For A Little While” and “Somewhere In My Broken Heart,” (To name but three of them), Billy Dean is back with The Rest Of It’s Mine, his 11th non-holiday album, and first since his wonderful 2012 release, A Man of Good Fortune. It’s a collection of songs that reflects a place very near and dear to his heart: his home state of Florida.

Born and raised in Quincey, Florida, the Grammy-winner returned to his panhandle roots in 2018, now residing with his wife Stephanie on the beaches of St. George Island. Billy says Florida is where he feels most alive.

"I was so touched and moved when Florida inducted me into its Artists Hall of Fame it made me terribly homesick," explains Dean. "So I moved back to reconnect with my aging mother, my high school buddies and friends and family. That all inspired the tropical flavor of this album."

Dean co-wrote nine of The Rest Of It’s Mine’s ten songs. Co-writers include the album co-producer Brent Radar, Tom Woodard, Monty Powell, David Duncan as well as Dean’s personal friends (and Florida natives) Hugh and Cody Vanlandingham. Award-winning songwriter Paul Overstreet joined Billy to co-write the title track and first single, “The Rest of It’s Mine.” Paul also provides vocals on the track along with an appearance in the official music video, which releases on on June 13.

"I really wanted to connect with some of the greatest Hall of Fame songwriters in our business, to learn from them," notes Dean. "I wanted to see what makes them tick and what made them Hall of Famers. Paul Overstreet was at the top of my list of guys that I knew but had never worked with."

The album includes a special bonus track— a 30th anniversary re-recorded version of Dean’s smash hit, “Somewhere in My Broken Heart,” performed with a full symphony orchestra.

"'Somewhere in My Broken Heart' has been such a gift to me and my family and I credit Hall of Fame songwriter Richard Leigh for teaching me so much about writing on the day that we put words to this beautiful melody that he had written on the piano," says Dean. "It's a melody I always thought should be surrounded by a luscious orchestra. What better time to celebrate than the 30-year anniversary of it becoming the Academy of Country Music's Song of the Year?"

When he's not in Florida spending time with family, Dean continues to tour the country, performing his hit songs for fans coast-to-coast. This year, in addition to his solo dates, he's teaming with fellow country vets Shenandoah and Wade Hayes on the Country Comeback Tour. For Dean's full tour schedule, visit


Billy Dean The Rest Of It's Mine Tracklist:

  1. Saltwater Cowboy
  2. The Rest of It’s Mine (featuring Paul Overstreet)
  3. Margarita Memories
  4. Hearts In The Sand
  5. Oh What A Night
  6. Where Nobody Knows My Name
  7. Laziest Man Alive
  8. My Day Off
  9. Bourbon Vacation
  10. Hemingway
  11. Somewhere In By Broken Heart (30th Anniversary re-recorded version w/symphony)