Omnivore Recordings Prepares The Hagers’ “The Complete Capitol Albums” for release July 22

Hee Haw stars get deluxe re-issue treatment from iconic label Omnivore Recordings with detailed liner notes and details about the classic country duo.

On July 22, Omnivore Recordings is set to release The Complete Capitol Albums by American country music duo The Hagers. Jim and John Hager recorded three albums for Capitol Records: The Hagers and Two Hagers are Better Than One in 1970 and Motherhood, Apple Pie & The Flag the following year. The identical twins also appeared on Hee Haw 135 times between 1969 and 1985 while also remaining a strong concert draw until Jim’s death in 2008 — with John passing away nine months later in 2009. While all three of their albums recorded for Capitol Records were critically acclaimed (with outlets proclaiming the duo “the next big thing” in country music), the albums didn’t chart as well as expected. That result didn’t stop Buck Owens or hardcore country fans from enjoying The Hagers and knowing that they were special.

The Complete Capitol Albums collects the three sought-after albums, compiling them together on CD for the first time, while giving them their digital birth as well. Mastered from the original analog master tape sources by Grammy winner Michael Graves, the collection was produced for release by another Grammy winner, Cheryl Pawelski and Grammy nominee Randy Poe, the latter whom co-authored Buck ‘Em!: The Autobiography of Buck Owens. In addition to photos of The Hagers, the packaging on the CD contains liner notes from Poe, as well.

From his liners:

The real reason The Hagers were never able to score a major hit on Capitol Records is impossible to say. Maybe record buyers and radio didn’t take the brothers seriously because of their frequent comedic portrayals on Hee Haw. Perhaps there was some strange stigma attached to the fact that they were twins. Maybe it was their pre-Willie long hair that turned off a late 1960s/early 1970s country audience.

Whatever the actual reason The Hagers failed to sell records in droves, it certainly wasn’t because of a lack of talent. The songs were strong; the production was solid; and the vocals were spot-on. This collection of their Capitol albums is aural proof that the duo knew what they were doing in the studio and confirms that Three Hagers LPs Are Better Than One.


The Hagers - The Complete Capitol Albums Tracklist:

  1. Loneliness Without You
  2. I’m Her Fun
  3. Tracks (Running Through The City)
  4. Your Tender Loving Care
  5. I Don’t Wanna Make It
  6. Gotta Get To Oklahoma (’Cause California’s Gettin’ To Me)
  7. With Lonely
  8. I’m Not Going Back To Jackson
  9. Give It Time
  10. Goin’ Home To Your Mother
  11. Silver Wings
  12. The Whole World Holding Hands
  13. I’m Jesse James
  14. Flowers Need Sun, Too
  15. Loony Caboose
  16. That’s My Love
  17. Second Fiddle
  18. The Last Time
  19. I’m Miles Away
  20. Gamblin’ Man
  21. Motherhood, Apple Pie And The Flag
  22. White Line Fever
  23. Silver Threads And Golden Needles
  24. Four Strong Winds
  25. Ft. Worth Texas
  26. Freight Train Fever
  27. Break My Mind
  28. I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight
  29. California On My Mind
  30. Back Out On The Road Again