Americana Superstar Corb Lund to Release “Songs My Friends Wrote” in April 2022

The album of cover songs will put a spotlight on some of Corb Lund’s favorite songs written by some of his friends and favorite artists.

To follow up his critically-acclaimed, CCMA Award winning 2020 release, Agricultural Tragic, Corb Lund is toasting songs from his long list of friends and world-class songwriters like Hayes Carll, Todd Snider, I an Tyson and more. Songs My Friends Wrote will be available digitally on April 29th via New West Records and physical vinyl and CD editions of the album will be out Friday, June 17, 2022.

Songs My Friends Wrote is an album I’ve been threatening to make for years,” says Lund. “In most cases I’ve picked relatively obscure songs that have always spoken to me, even though many of them won’t be so familiar to people. The best part about recording all these tunes was that they reminded me of all the people who I haven’t been able to hang out with for the past two years because of the plague we’ve all been dealing with. All of these tunes bring a smile to my face and I hope they do the same for you.”

Today, Lund has released the album’s first single, “Highway 87,” which was written by Hayes Carll. Lund shares, “I’ve known Hayes forever. We met at a card game in Dauphin, Manitoba, many moons ago and we both lost all our money to my ex, Debbie. Hayes and I have toured together, written together, drank together and he’s one of my best friends in music. This song is one of his that’s older and not as widely known, but my guys and I have been playing it for years. I love it.”


Corn Lund Songs My Friends Wrote Tracklist:

1. Highway 87 (Hayes Carll)
2. That’s What Keeps the Rent Down, Baby (Geoff Berner)
3. Montana Waltz (Ian Tyson)
4. Blue Wing (Tom Russell)
5. Pasa-Get-Down-Dena (John Evans)
6. Spookin’ the Horses (Fred Eaglesmith)
7. Little Rock (Hayes Carll)
8. Road To Las Cruces (Ian Tyson)
9. Big American Headliner (Mike Plume)
10. Age Like Wine (Todd Snider)