Lori McKenna - “The Balladeer” Tracklist and Cover Art

CMA and Grammy Award-winning singer/songwriter set to return with 11th album (and third with CN Records) later this year. Get the full scoop here!

With a handful of award-winning songs and cuts from the likes of Tim McGraw, Little Big Town, Faith Hill, Miranda Lambert, Hunter Hayes, Reba McEntire, and Carrie Underwood, among others, Lori McKenna certainly didn’t need to continue her career as a recording artist yet she’s done so and often those albums are mined by artists above for tracks for their own albums. For her 11th solo project, McKenna returned to Dave Cobb’s RCA Studio A to record what she feels is her most personal album to date, The Balladeer.

The Balladeer will be released July 24, 2020 and one track from it, "When You’re My Age," was selected by Jostens as their official song for the Class of 2020. The album features eleven songs, most of them self-written save for three which were co-written with Liz Rose and Hillary Lindsey, her fellow members of the writing collective Love Junkies.

In conjunction with its release, “When You’re My Age” has been selected as the official song for the Class of 2020 by Jostens—the nation’s leading provider of custom class jewelry, graduation products and yearbooks. The song will be featured as part of Jostens’ free online “Virtual Commencement” programs this spring and summer, which have been designed to help high schools and colleges celebrate their Class of 2020 throughout the COVID-19 pandemic. Of the partnership, McKenna shares, “As a songwriter, but even more as a mom of a high school senior, I’m so honored to offer up a song for the Class of 2020. I love that Jostens is making a special salute to this year’s high school and college graduates. It’s an unprecedented time and these graduates deserve the best celebration possible.” More information can be found via www.jostens.com.

The Balladeer features production from Dave Cobb and a tight group of musicians in Cobb, Brian Allen (Guitars), Bassist and Cellist Brian Allen, Chris Powell on drums and Philip Towns on all things keys. Background vocalists include Little Big Town’s Karen Fairchild and Kimberly Schlapman, Hillary Lindsey, Kristen Rogers and Liz Rose.

Reflecting on the album, McKenna shares, “I’m at the age now where you can see really well where you’re going, because you’re helping your parents and you’ve lived through what your kids are doing. It’s this weird emotional time where you’re like a bookkeeper, writing it all down, trying to make sense of it and add it all up somehow.”


Lori McKenna - “The Balladeer” Tracklist

  1. This Town Is A Woman (ft. Karen Fairchild and Kimberly Schlapman)
  2. The Balladeer
  3. Marie
  4. The Dream
  5. Uphill
  6. Good Fight
  7. Stuck In High School
  8. When You’re My Age (ft. Hillary Lindsey and Liz Rose)
  9. Two Birds
  10. ‘Till You’re Grown