Kid Rock Announces “Sweet Southern Sugar” Album and New Tour

See the cover art and tracklist for the new diverse record here and learn about his “Greatest Show On Earth” Tour set to launch in early 2018.

This morning on The Howard Stern Show on SiriusXM’s Howard 100 channel, Kid Rock got down to business and announced - during a freewheeling interview - his forthcoming record Sweet Southern Sugar. The album, his first release via his new partnership with BMG and BBR Music Group, features a lean 10 tracks which showcase Kid Rock in all of the ways he’s become popular, from southern rock to hip hop to country. He transcends any real genre classification and just puts out music for an audience that genuinely enjoys his projects (and his fine concert tours, more on those below). Kid Rock also stated that he wasn’t going to run for senator from his home state of Michigan but didn’t rule something like that out in the future as he feels the “call to serve” the United States in some capacity.

Sweet Southern Sugar — Out November 3, 2017 — features a hard-edged single called “Greatest Show On Earth” and that song, which has already become a justified hit, is the title of and likely tour opener song for the talented entertainer — seriously, go to a show, it’s one of the best in the world — and he will hit 22 shows over the course of three months, all of the shows taking place on weekends so that his fans can attend them when they’re most likely to be free (and because he prefers to keep his tours lean). Full dates below.

The album features a diverse set of songs. Having the opportunity to hear the record at a small event this month, I heard songs which range from the braggadocio we’ve come to expect from young Kid Rock’s rock/rap songs to heart-felt raps about suicide awareness to honesty about how lucky he is to be where he’s at as he approaches his late 40s as a grandfather. The album features a nice cover of a classic Motown tune too.


  • Jan. 19 Nashville, TN – Bridgestone Arena
  • Jan. 20 Louisville, KY – KFC Yum! Center
  • Jan. 25 Durant, OK – Choctaw Grand Theatre
  • Jan. 26 Durant, OK – Choctaw Grand Theatre
  • Jan. 27 Durant, OK – Choctaw Grand Theatre
  • Feb. 2 Tulsa, OK – BOK Center
  • Feb. 3 Houston, TX – Toyota Center
  • Feb. 9 Atlanta, GA – Infinite Energy Arena
  • Feb. 10 Charlotte, NC – Spectrum Center
  • Feb. 16 Toronto, ON – Air Canada Centre
  • Feb. 17 Columbus, OH – Nationwide Arena
  • Feb. 23 Philadelphia, PA – Wells Fargo Center
  • Feb. 24 Cleveland, OH – Quicken Loans Arena
  • Mar. 2 Uncasville, CT – Mohegan Sun Arena
  • Mar. 3 Baltimore, MD – Royal Farms Arena
  • Mar. 9 Newark, NJ – Prudential Center
  • Mar. 10 Nassau, NY – NYCB Live
  • Mar. 16 Chicago, IL – United Center
  • Mar. 17 Omaha, NE – CenturyLink Center
  • Mar. 20 Denver, CO – Pepsi Center
  • Mar. 23 Phoenix, AZ – Talking Stick Resort Arena
  • Mar. 24 Las Vegas, NV – Mandalay Bay Events Center

Sweet Southern Sugar

Kid Rock Sweet Southern Sugar Tracklist

  1. Greatest Show On Earth
  2. Po-Dunk
  3. Tennessee Mountain Top
  4. I Wonder
  5. American Rock N’Roll
  6. Back To The Otherside
  7. Raining Whiskey
  8. Stand The Pain
  9. Sugar Pie Honey Bunch
  10. Grandpa’s Jam