Sturgill Simpson's "A Sailor's Guide To Earth" In Stores Now

Sturgill Simpson’s highly anticipated new album A Sailor’s Guide To Earth is out today on Atlantic Records.

Simpson will celebrate the album’s release next week with performances on “The Late Show with Stephen Colbert” on Monday, April 18 and “The Daily Show with Trevor Noah” on Wednesday, April 20. He’ll also present the complete album during a special live performance at Rough Trade NYC on Tuesday, April 19. Tickets are extremely limited and will go on-sale Monday, April 18 at 10:00AM ET.

Additionally, Simpson will tour throughout 2016 including two newly confirmed shows at Nashville’s historic Ryman Auditorium on October 28 and 29. Tickets go on-sale next Friday, April 22 at 10:00AM CT. Other dates include upcoming sold-out shows at Austin’s Moody Theater (two nights), Dallas’ The Bomb Factory, Houston’s White Oak Music Hall, Lexington’s Lexington Opera House (two nights), Knoxville’s Tennessee Theater, Indianapolis’ Egyptian Room, Louisville’s Louisville Palace, Chicago’s Riviera Theatre and Minneapolis’ First Avenue. See below for complete details.

Already receiving widespread acclaim, Rolling Stone awarded the album 4-stars calling it, “a spectacular mic drop of a third LP,” while The New York Times praises, “Sailor’s Guide is rowdier, more emotionally insular and also far more musically surprising, an album of raw country cut with rich and messy Southern soul and sleek orchestral bombast” and Esquire Magazine declares, “It’s hard to believe any other record this year will raise as many eyebrows, invite as many questions, or be as instantly beloved” and Rolling Stone award Additionally, NPR Music describes “Brace For Impact (Live A Little),” as “thrilling new music,” while Stereogum calls “In Bloom,” “transcendent…Simpson turned ‘In Bloom’ into first a weepy, twangy ballad and then a celebratory blast of brass, his drawl doing justice to Cobain’s lyrics all the while.”

Produced by Simpson, A Sailor’s Guide To Earth was written—beginning to end—as a letter to his first child, who arrived during the summer of 2014.

Recorded primarily at Nashville’s The Butcher Shoppe, Simpson was joined in the studio by Grammy Award-winning engineer David Ferguson (Johnny Cash, John Prine, “Cowboy” Jack Clement) and assistant engineer Sean Sullivan. Along with members of his touring band, the album features Dave Roe on bass, Dan Dugmore on steel guitar, Dougie Wilkinson on bagpipes, Garo Yellin and Arthur Cook on cello, Jonathan Dinklage and Whitney LaGrange on violin and special guests The Dap-Kings.

A Sailor’s Guide To Earth is Simpson’s third full-length album and follows his breakthrough, Grammy-nominated 2014 release, Metamodern Sounds In Country Music. Beloved by critics and fans, the record was featured on year-end “best of” lists from The New York Times, Rolling Stone, the Village Voices’ Pazz and Jop, Rolling Stone Country, NPR Music, American Songwriter, Stereogum, the Los Angeles Times, KCRW, Pitchfork, The Washington Post and many others.
1. Welcome to Earth (Pollywog)
2. Breakers Roar
3. Keep It Between The Lines
4. Sea Stories
5. In Bloom
6. Brace For Impact (Live A Little)
7. All Around You
8. Oh Sarah
9. Call To Arms