Mac McAnally "AKA Nobody" Tracklist & Cover Art

Seven time CMA Musician of the Year returns with 12th studio album on September 18, 2015.

One of the most-respected session musicians and songwriters is back with his latest solo record, his 12th album (13th overall including his fantastic Live: In Muscle Shoals). Mac’s catalog has found him recording for labels like Ariola, RCA, Geffen, Warner Brothers, MCA Nashville, Dreamworks Nashville, ShowDog Nashville and Mailboat Records, the latter the label owned by Jimmy Buffett, whom Mac often tours with as a member of his Coral Reefer Band. Mac has also toured with Kenny Chesney and sing a duet with Kenny Chesney. McAnally has produced works for artists like Sawyer Brown and Chris LeDoux along with having hit singles recorded by artists like Kenny Chesney, Alabama, Sawyer Brown, Ricky Van Shelton, TG Sheppard, and Shenandoah, just to name a few. Also, Mac has won the CMA’s “Musician of the Year” award every year since 2008.

With AKA Nobody, McAnally blends his trademark wit (like on “Better Get The Story Stright”) with tender ballads like “Don’t Remember Leaving” and he really is country music’s own version of Randy Newman with the depth of songwriting and stories present on his vivid musical portraits.

Working with an all-star assembly of friends and studio colleagues, McAnally achieves a rare blend of deep soul and polished technique on each track. His expressive range is on full display -- swampy blues on "Place Where You Belong," some exotic Parisian-style swing on "Zanzibar," a saucy Cajun swagger on "Loser Gumbo" with McAnally rocking the piano as Sonny Landreth wails on slide guitar, complex but catchy pop reminiscent of Steely Dan's best on "Someday," straight-ahead, steel-sweetened country with Southern rock seasoning on "Coast of Carolina."

And perhaps the album's biggest surprise, "With a Straight Face," a sensitive portrayal of two gay children raised by parents who can't understand their kids are "something God made."

"I have a heart for the underdog and for the oppressed and persecuted," McAnally says, addressing "With a Straight Face." "And I have close friends who have suffered for no good reason I can see. This song is for all the above."


Mac McAnally A.K.A. Nobody tracklist:

  1. A Little Bit Better (Chris Stapleton and Mac McAnally)
  2. Last But Not Least (Zac Brown Wyatt Durrette, Jimmy De Martini, Coy Bowles and Mac McAnally)
  3. Mississippi, You're On My Mind (Jesse Winchester)
  4. With A Straight Face (Mac McAnally)
  5. Don't Remember Leaving (Mac McAnally)
  6. Zanzibar (Mac McAnally)
  7. Place Where You Belong (Al Anderson and Mac McAnally)
  8. Proud To Be Alive (Mac McAnally)
  9. Better Get Your Story Straight (Mac McAnally)
  10. Everything (Ain't Too High a Price) (Mac McAnally)
  11. Loser Gumbo (Sonny Landreth and Mac McAnally)
  12. Coast of Carolina (Jimmy Buffett and Mac McAnally)
  13. Someday (Mac McAnally)
  14. Island Rain (Kenny Chesney and Mac McAnally)
  15. Working Prayer (Mac McAnally)