Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Reveals 2014 Inductees

Country music icon John Anderson leads the list of nominees for one of Nashville's most treasured honors, joining the Nashville Songwriter's Hall of Fame.

John Anderson, Paul Craft, Tom Douglas and Gretchen Peters will be inducted into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame in October, according to an announcement made by Pat Alger, chair of the organization’s Board of Directors.  

The four new inductees will join the 192 existing members of the elite organization when they are officially inducted during the 44th Anniversary Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Dinner & Induction Ceremony onSunday, October 5 at the Music City Center. 

"Here in Nashville where the music industry has always been built on a foundation of great songs written by legendary songwriters, each year only a few are elected to the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame," says Alger. "This year we are very pleased to welcome the class of 2014: Tom Douglas and Gretchen Peters in the songwriter category; Paul Craft in the veteran songwriter category and John Anderson as our songwriter/artist." 

Tom Douglas’ songwriter credits include “I Run To You” (Lady Antebellum) and “The House That Built Me” (Miranda Lambert). Gretchen Peters’ resume is known for “Independence Day” (Martina McBride) and “The Secret Of Life” (Faith Hill). Paul Craft is the tunesmith behind “Dropkick Me, Jesus” (Bobby Bare) and “Hank Williams, You Wrote My Life” (Moe Bandy). John Anderson popularized many of his own compositions, including “Swingin’” and “Seminole Wind.”