Jason Aldean, Garth Brooks, Luke Bryan lead "Working Man's Poet," A Merle Tribute Album On Broken Bow Records

Country Music stars love toasting their heroes and influences and there's perhaps no star more deserving of such a compilation than Merle Haggard, who is the subject of Working Man's Poet: A Tribute To Merle Haggard, A 20 track album due out the first day of April 2014. Get the full scoop here!

Well, it’s official the Broken Bow Music Group has announced that they’ll be releasing a 19 track Tribute to Merle Haggard called Working Man’s Poet, with a majority of the songs recorded by the artists on the roster of the Broken Bow Music Group’s three labels, RedBow, Stoney Creek Records and — of course — Broken Bow. In addition to Jason Aldean, Randy Houser, Joe Nichols, Kristy Lee Cook, Thompson Square, Dustin Lynch and James Wesley, the album features Toby Keith, Ben Haggard, Jake Owen, Luke Bryan & Dierks Bentley and on a Walmart Exclusive, Garth Brooks. 

All of the songs on the compilation are previously unreleased (outside of Garth’s “Tonight The Bottle Let Me Down” from Blame It All On My Roots and Joe Nichols “Footlights,”a song which is featured on his new album Crickets). The album Working Man’s Poet: A Tribute To Merle Haggard features tracks like “Going Where The Lonely Go,” “Mama Tried,” “Today I Started Loving You Again,” “I Think I’ll Just Stay Here And Drink,” “Make Up And Faded Blue Jeans,” “Carolyn,” and “The Fightin’ Side of Me.” Joe Nichols, Thompson Square, Randy Houser, Dustin Lynch, James Wesley, Ben Haggard, and Jason Aldean all recorded a pair of songs for this project, which is being released in conjunction with the 2014 ACM Awards. 

Merle Haggard was the first ACM Entertainer of the Year in 1970 and was their first Triple Crown achievement after winning the ‘most promising Male Vocalist of the Year award in 1965 and the first of six Male Vocalist of the Year award the following year. He will be awarded with the Crystal Milestone Award, joining previous winners, Jason Aldean, Garth Brooks, Kenny Chesney, Gayle Holcomb, Jennifer Nettles and Taylor Swift.  The ACM Awards will be broadcast on April 6, 2014. 

Click here to see the Tracklist and Cover Art for the album!