Previously Unknown Johnny Cash Album To Be Released In March 2014

Recently disovered in the vaults of Sony Nashville is a long forgotten collection of unreleased Johnny Cash tracks recorded in 1981 and 1984 with Billy Sherrill featuring A-list pros from the time. John Carter Cash enlisted some of Country’s greats (Marty Stuart, etc.) to help restore the songs. Full details here!

A collection of twelve recently discovered lost recordings by the iconic Johnny Cash are soon to see release in the form of the new album Out Among The Stars. The album will be released March 25, 2014 on Legacy Recordings, the catalog division of Sony Music Entertainment.

The album’s twelve tracks were originally recorded in Nashville at Columbia Studios in 1981, and at 1111 Sound Studios in 1984. The tracks were produced by Billy Sherill, the legendary architect of the “countrypolitan” sound, and head of A&R at CBS Records Nashville at the time. Musicians performing on the songs include a young Marty Stuart on guitar and mandolin, as well as Nashville A-Team members Jerry Kennedy (guitar), Pete Drake (steel guitar), Hargus “Pig” Robbins (piano), and Henry Strzelecki (bass). June Carter Cash and Waylon Jennings appear as duet partners. Two tracks – “Call Your Mother” and “I Came To Believe” – were written by Cash himself.

These recordings are not demos, outtakes, or alternate versions. They remained in the Columbia vaults during Cash’s final years on the label only to be eventually forgotten, and have never been released in any form. The recordings were rediscovered in 2012 when John Carter Cash, along with the Cash experts at Legacy, was cataloging his father’s and mother’s exhaustive archives in Hendersonville, Tennessee, and at the Sony Music Archives.
 “When my parents passed away, it became necessary to go through this material,” says John Carter Cash. “We found these recordings that were produced by Billy Sherrill in the early 1980s…. They were beautiful.”

John Carter Cash, along with co-producer and archivist Steve Berkowitz, enlisted Marty Stuart, Buddy Miller, and Carlene Carter, as well as other master musicians, to collaborate in restoring the album at the Cash Cabin Studios in Hendersonville. Thirty years later, these long-lost recordings by the legendary Man In Black will finally become available for his legions of fans to enjoy.

Out Among The Stars is available for pre-order here.

The track listing is as follows:
1. Out Among The Stars
2. Baby Ride Easy – Duet With June Carter Cash
3. She Used To Love Me A Lot
4. After All
5. I’m Movin’ On – Duet With Waylon Jennings
6. If I Told You Who It Was
7. Call Your Mother
8. I Drove Her Out Of My Mind
9. Tennessee
10. Rock And Roll Shoes
11. Don’t You Think It’s Come Our Time – Duet With June Carter Cash
12. I Came To Believe