Album Review: Nashville Soundtrack - Season 1 Volume 2

ABC TV show "Nashville" has proven to be a moderately successful show and following the model set by FOX TV's "Glee," ABC has consistently released singles to iTunes promoting the songs featured on the show each week. This is the second of two season one soundtracks. Read on to see what we have to say about it here!

"We Are Water" is the best song Hayden Panettiere has sung as a solo artist on the show with the singer showcasing sweet reverence to the beautiful Patty Griffin song. Lennon & Maisy (Stella) perform a sweet cover of The Lumineers "Ho Hey" for the soundtrack and while "Hypnotizing" from Hayden Panettiere was originally scheduled to be the soundtrack's mainstream radio single, Country Radio had another song in mind and has chosen to play "Ho Hey" instead. "Stronger Than Me" from Connie Britton (Rayna Jaymes) s one of her better solo performances while Jonathan Jackson delicately performs The Secret Sisters' "Let There Be Lonely" and showcases a vulnerability that may not have been evident on the show, thanks to his often unlikable character. 

T-Bone Burnett and Buddy Miller are the main producers on the album with Frank Liddell, Ross Copperman, The Black Keys' Dan Auerbach, Gabriel Witcher and Garth Fundis helping out on various tracks. The most likable part of "Nashville"'s show is the music so it's great that they've gotten strong producers for these songs as it helps create a sense of authenticity to a show that can - at times - feel more dramatic than a Nicholas Sparks novel.