Jerrod Niemann Free The Music Tracklist and Cover Art

Jerrod Niemann today revealed both the cover art and tracklist for Free The Music, his sophomore album for Sea Gayle/Arista Nashville. Read on to learn more about the project and the thirteen songs that are included including Top 25 hit "Shinin' On Me."

"This album is my interpretation of how I feel about country right now," said Jerrod. This means there's a healthy dose of horns, fiddles and steel guitars. 

Aside from co-producing and co-writing the record, Jerrod formulated the idea for the cover design. The illustration shows Jerrod opening a set of doors, which he says symbolizes letting the music out and inviting the music lovers in. "We've done our best to try and make room for everyone," he says. Also, many of the instruments featured in the art were taken from actual photographs of the instruments used when recording.

Jerrod’s vision when creating Free The Music was to mix the old with the new. “The pedal steel guitar has come to define country music, but there were years and years of country being made before that instrument was even invented. Horns have been in country going back to the 1920s, and fiddles and other string instruments date back even further. I took all those things and put them on Free The Music," he says.

"I made this record in an effort to try and mix 1927 with 2027, but I didn’t want to disregard 100 years of what people have already done musically. Instead, I wanted to take that and do it in a way that is also representative of the future.”

Jerrod Niemann Free The Music Tracklist and Songwriters

1. Free The Music (Jerrod Niemann)

2. Whiskey Kind of Way (Jerrod Niemann/Randy Boudreaux)

3. Get On Up (Jerrod Niemann/J.R. McCoy/Jesse Clingan)

4. I'll Have To Kil The Pain (Jerrod Niemann/J.R. McCoy/Arlos Smith)

5. Only God Can Love You More (Jerrod Niemann/Jon Stone/Lee Brice)

6. Shinin' On Me (Jerrod Niemann/Rob Hatch/Lee Brice/Lance Miller)

7.Honky Tonk Fever (Jerrod Niemann)

8. Guessing Games (Jerrod Niemann/Rob Hatch/Lance Miller)

9. It Won't Matter Anymore (Jerrod Niemann/J.R. McCoy)

10. I'm All About You feat. Colbie Calliat (Jerrod Niemann/Richie Brown)

11. Real Women Drink Beer (Jerrod Niemann/Houston Phillips)

12. Fraction of a Man (Jerrod Niemann)