Album Review: Soundtrack - Act of Valor

Filmed with active-duty Navy SEALs to ensure the accuracy of the events portrayed on film, Act of Valor demanded a strong soundtrack. Do Keith Urban, Lady Antebellum, Hunter Hayes, Jake Owen and more deliver one? Read on to find out!

Keith Urban leads off the soundtrack with “For You,” a rockin’ tune that is one of the more passionate rockers he’s made in recent memory and it’s not hard to picture the power ballad finding its way to country radio in the coming weeks as a showcase track from this album and from his next album. The song paints an amazing portrait of brotherhood and the togetherness of a tight elite unit of soldiers. Sugarland’s “Guide You Home” finds Kristian Bush dueting with Jennifer Nettles instead of just primarily ‘hiding’ in the background as many accuse him of doing. The song has an uplifting message of faith and spirituality in the toughest of situations stating in the chorus:

“when your hands are worn down to the bone, and you’re not sure you can stand on your own, when the darkness will leave you alone, a better light will guide you home.”

“I Was Here” is an uplifting ballad from Lady Antebellum that feels ready to become 2012’s Idol Coronation single while Jake Owen’s “The Best I Can” is an atmospheric slice of modern music while Trace Adkins’ take on the George Teren and Ray Scott-penned “If The Sun Comes Up” showcases what Trace does best, that is singing powerful and emotive ballads. He might just be the best and most nuanced male vocalist in modern country music when given strong material like “If The Sun Comes Up.”

Lori McKenna’s a brilliant songwriter and showcases that and her strong voice on “Two Soldiers Coming Home” while Montgomery Gentry’s “What It Takes” is an inspiring song of working and fighting for what is right in the world and knowing the stuff that is needed to get the job done.  Josh Kelley’s “The Best Of Me” finds the singer/songwriter taking on the world and proclaiming that no matter what happens in his life, as long as he has love, he can make it through the toughest of situations. 

Hunter Hayes provides his stunning talent and voice to “Where We Left Off,” a tune which underscores the power of love and how it survives even in the harshest of environments and provides a song for a soldier to leave to their partner as a reminder of the power of that love. Always a stunning vocalist, Wynonna Judd returns with the closing track “Whatever Brings You Back,” and it serves as a strong closer to a brief but strong 10 song collection of songs featuring some of the best artists in mainstream country music and many of these songs are strong enough to suggest a future single or two for those involved here or for the songs to end up on future albums from these or other artists.


ACT of VALOR Soundtrack Tracklist

1. Keith Urban - For You

2. Sugarland - Guide You Home

3. Lady Antebellum - I Was Here

4. Jake Owen - The Best I Can

5. Trace Adkins - If The Sun Comes Up

6. Lori McKenna - Two Soldiers Coming HOme

7. Montgomery Gentry - What It Takes

8. Josh Kelley - The Best of Me

9. Hunter Hayes - Where We Left Off

10. Wynonna Judd - Whatever Brings You Back

Act of Valor Soundtrack Review