ACM Announces New Artist Category Nominees for 2010

The ACM Announced the first round of nominations for their Top New Artist categories.  They have kept last year's format which will merge the fan-voted winners from each of the three categories (solo, duo, & group) into one final televised category.

The Academy of Country Music revealed early nominations for three categories today.

For the second year in a row fans will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite artists. Fan voting will begin at on Friday, February 26th, and will close on Friday, March 12. The winner in each category will be announced in mid-March and will move on to compete for Top New Artist. Voting for the Top New Artist category will begin at on Thursday, April 1, and will close on April 18, with the winner being announced live during the 45th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards broadcast on CBS.


· Luke Bryan

· Jamey Johnson

· Chris Young


· Bomshel

· Joey + Rory

· Steel Magnolia


· Eli Young Band

· Gloriana

· The Lost Trailers

From this list, it will be easy to see Gloriana as the top contender for the award since their fans already voted them the Best New Artist award at the American Music Awards last fall.  The duo category is filled with talent but none of the three acts really stand a chance at winning the final award while any of the three of the Solo contestants are solid contenders.  In the end I think the final three which will be chosen for the Top New Artist will be Gloriana, Chris Young and Joey + Rory.  What say you?